Users' questions

Who was the winner of the 2012 Copa Sudamericana?

Who was the winner of the 2012 Copa Sudamericana?

Brazilian club São Paulo were crowned as the champion after defeating Argentine club Tigre in the finals. Having already qualified for the 2013 Libertadores Cup (for being 4th in the 2012 Brazilian League ), São Paulo, after winning the 2012 Sudamericana Cup, will also dispute the 2013 Recopa Cup…

When was the last time the Copa Sudamericana was played?

The 2012 Copa Sudamericana de Clubes (officially the 2012 Copa Bridgestone Sudamericana de Clubes for sponsorship reasons) was the 11th edition of the Copa Sudamericana, South America ‘s secondary international club football tournament organized by CONMEBOL.

When did the CONMEBOL Sudamericana tournament start and end?

The CONMEBOL Sudamericana began in 2002, replacing the separate competitions Copa Merconorte and Copa Mercosur (that had replaced Copa CONMEBOL) by a single competition. Since its introduction, the competition has been a pure elimination tournament with the number of rounds and teams varying from year to year.

Who is eligible to play in the Recopa Sudamericana?

The CONMEBOL Sudamericana is considered a merger of defunct tournaments such as the Copa CONMEBOL, Copa Mercosur and Copa Merconorte. The winner of the Copa Sudamericana becomes eligible to play in the Recopa Sudamericana.

Who are the teams in the Copa Sudamericana?

A group stage was included, with teams from Argentina and Brazil directly entering the Copa Sudamericana entering the competition at this stage, joining the 16 first stage winners and the four teams eliminated in the Copa Libertadores third stage. The winners of each group will qualify for the round of 16.

How does the first stage of the Copa Sudamericana work?

In the first stage, teams from all associations other than Argentina and Brazil played against a team from their same association in double-legged ties with the winners qualifying for a 32-team group stage, ensuring that at least two teams from each association will take part in the group stage.