Who is the mayor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation?

Who is the mayor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation?

Firhad Hakim Hon

SL No. Name Phone Nos.
1 Firhad Hakim Hon’ble Mayor Office : 2286-1211 . Fax : 2286-1311/1011. EPABX : 2286-1000, Extn. 2471 Int. Com

Who was the first Mayor of Calcutta Municipal Corporation?

Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das was the first Mayor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation with Subhas Chandra Bose as his Chief Executive Officer.

How many municipal corporations are there in Kolkata?

Geographical Location : Kolkata, located at 22°30´ North latitude, 88°30´ East longitude, is the main port entry in North Eastern India. It is 120 kmfrom the Bay of Bengal and stands on the eastern bank of river Hooghly (Ganga)
No. of Boroughs : 16
No. of Wards : 144
No. of Employees of KMC : 20463 (as on 01.04

Who is the chairman of KMC?

Sri Firhad Hakim

SL No Name Phone Nos.
1 Sri Firhad Hakim, CHAIRMAN Board of Administrators Office : 2286-1211 Fax : 2286-1311/1011 EPABX : 2286-1000, Extn. 2471 Int. Com

Who is the first Mayor of India?

Tara Cherian (May 1913 – 7 November 2000) was an Indian social activist and politician.

Who is the Mayor of West Bengal?

List of mayors

Serial No. Date of Oath at Office Name
38 16 June 2010 Sovan Chatterjee
39 22 November 2018 Firhad Hakim
vacant Chairman of Board of Administrators 8 May 2020 Firhad Hakim, Chairman of Board of Administrators
22 March 2021 Khalil Ahmed, Interim Administrator (for election days only)

Which is the first Municipal Corporation in India?

The first Municipal Corporation in modern India was set up in the former Presidency town of Madras in 1688. This was followed by Municipal Corporations of Calcutta in 1876 and Bombay in 1888.

Which is the richest municipal corporation in India?

Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation
The Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) is the richest, and the Greater Chennai Corporation of the city of Chennai in Tamil Nadu is the oldest municipal corporation in India, respectively.

Which is the oldest municipality in West Bengal?

Uttarpara Kotrung Municipality
Uttarpara Kotrung Municipality is the civic body that governs Uttarpara Kotrung and its surrounding areas (Bhadrakali and Hind Motor) in Srirampore subdivision of Hooghly district, West Bengal, India. It’s the oldest municipality in the state of West Bengal.

Who is Kolkata Municipal Commissioner?

Sri Alapan Bandyopadhyay, IAS, the Municipal Commissioner, has ably led the team that has prepared the document.

How many municipalities are there in West Bengal 2020?

The urban governance in West Bengal is being implemented through 118 nos. of Municipalities / Notified Area Authorities and 7 nos. of Municipal Corporations.

Who is the first female mayor?

Susanna Madora Salter (née Kinsey; March 2, 1860 – March 17, 1961) was an American politician and activist. She served as mayor of Argonia, Kansas, becoming the first woman elected as mayor and one of the first women to serve in any political office in the United States.

Which is the official website of Kolkata Municipal Corporation?

Website : www.kmcgov.in. e-mail : [email protected]. Municipal Commissioner. BINOD KUMAR, I.A.S. (WB: 1996) Phone : 2286-1234/1034 (D), 2286-1000 Extn. 2531/2474. Int. Com. : 235. Fax :033-2286-1434/1334.

How many mayors have been elected in Kolkata?

There have been 39 mayors of Kolkata in total till now since first election in 1924. The first Kolkata Municipal Election was held on 16 April 1924, during the time of British India, under the Calcutta Municipal Act, 1923 – Bengal Act III of 1923.

Who are the members of the Municipal Corporation?

Each borough has a committee consisting of the councillors elected from the respective wards of the boroughs. The Corporation, through the borough committees, maintains government-aided schools, hospitals and municipal markets and partakes in urban planning and road maintenance.