Helpful tips

Where is the Auvergne region?

Where is the Auvergne region?


Auvergne Auvèrnhe / Auvèrnha (Occitan)
Country France
Dissolved 1 January 2016
Prefecture Clermont-Ferrand
Departments hide 4 Allier Cantal Haute-Loire Puy-de-Dôme

What is the capital of France’s Auvergne region?

Clermont Ferrand
Auvergne’s capital city, Clermont Ferrand, lying at the foot of an ancient volcano, is a city of a quarter of a million inhabitants, best known in France as the home of the Michelin tyre company.

What is the capital city of Auvergne Rhone Alpes?

Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Italy and Switzerland adjoin to the east. The capital is Lyon.

What is Auvergne Rhone known for?

The Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region offers a collection of destinations to satisfy every taste, including Lyon, France’s famous gastronomic city, Mont-Blanc, the “roof of Europe”, the Ardèche and Drôme area, both reminiscent of Provence, the Auvergne with its immense tracts of land and range of dormant volcanoes.

What food is Auvergne famous for?

Auvergne is famous for its sausages and cured meats: sausages, dry sausages, pâtés, fritons d’Auvergne, Fromage de tete (pieces of pig’s head cut and cooked in a broth). The green lentils are one of the jewels of gastronomy Auvergne. There are also yellow lentil on the basaltic plateau of Saint-Flour (Cantal).

What does Auvergne mean in English?

• AUVERGNE (noun) Meaning: A region in central France.

Does France have provinces?

The provinces of France were roughly equivalent to the historic counties of England. They came into their final form over the course of many hundreds of years, as many dozens of semi-independent fiefs and former independent countries came to be incorporated into the French royal domain.

What languages are spoken in Auvergne?

French is the official language of Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. However, three indigenous languages ​​are also practiced in the region. The Occitan language, the oïl languages, and the Franco-Provençal language. They are all dialects which originated from spoken Latin and/or old French.

Where should I live in Rhône-Alpes?

12 Most Attractive Villages in the Rhône-Alpes

  • Chamonix.
  • Vogüé
  • Beauchastel.
  • Balazuc.
  • Sainte-Croix-en-Jarez.
  • Bonneval-sur-Arc.
  • Mirmande.
  • Montbrun-les-Bains.

What food is Rhône-Alpes famous for?

Rhone Alps boasts traditional convivial food from Savoy such as the well-known Raclette and Cheese Fondue as well as refined gastronomic specialities like the Quenelle from Lyon – some opportunities to taste the fine Rhône-Alpes wines!

What is the national dish of France?

Pot-au-Feu, France’s National Dish | History Today.

What is the meaning of Auvergne?

Auvergne in British English (əʊˈvɛən , əʊˈvɜːn , French ovɛrɲ) noun. a former region of S central France: largely mountainous, rising over 1800 m (6000 ft)

Where is the province of Auvergne located in France?

Auvergne: departments of Puy-de-Dôme, Cantal, northwest of Haute-Loire, and extreme south of Allier. The province of Auvergne is entirely contained inside the Auvergne region Bourbonnais: department of Allier.

What are the names of the rivers in Auvergne?

Auvergne has two major rivers in Auvergne: the Loire runs through the southeast and borders the northeast, and the Allier runs from north to south down the center of Auvergne, with branches going east and west.

Which is the former administrative region of France?

Auvergne (/oʊˈvɛərn(jə), oʊˈvɜːrn/; French: [ovɛʁɲ] ( listen); Auvergnat: Auvèrnhe / Auvèrnha) is a former administrative region of France. Since 1 January 2016, it is part of the new region Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. It comprises four departments: Allier, Puy-de-Dôme, Cantal and Haute-Loire.

Where are the four departments of Auvergne located?

Auvergne ( / oʊˈvɛərn ( jə ), oʊˈvɜːrn /; French: [ovɛʁɲ] ( listen); Occitan: Auvèrnhe or Auvèrnha) is a former administrative region in south-central France, comprising the four departments of Allier, Puy-de-Dôme, Cantal and Haute-Loire. Since 1 January 2016, it has been part of the new region Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes.