What medals are awarded by the British army?

What medals are awarded by the British army?

Decorations, Gallantry and Distinguished Conduct medals

  • The Victoria Cross.
  • The George Cross.
  • The Conspicuous Gallantry Cross.
  • The Distinguished Service Cross.
  • The Military Cross.
  • The Distinguished Flying Cross.
  • The Air Force Cross.
  • The Royal Red Cross (Class 2) front and back.

What is the most prestigious British military medal for bravery?

the Victoria Cross
The George Cross Ranking alongside the Victoria Cross as the nation’s highest award for gallantry, this recognises acts of gallantry not in the presence of the enemy, for example the disposal of explosives. It may be awarded to civilians in addition to military personnel.

What is the order of awards from the Queen?

CBE is the highest ranking Order of the British Empire award, followed by OBE and then MBE. They are given to people to recognise a positive impact they have made in their work….The main awards include:

  • Companion of honour.
  • Knight or Dame.
  • CBE.
  • OBE.
  • MBE.
  • BEM.

What is the rarest medal?

The Victoria Cross is the ‘holy grail’ for medal collectors because there are only 1,357 in existence. Bearing the inscription ‘For valour’ and known as a VC, this medal was first awarded for ‘conspicuous bravery’ in 1856 and later backdated to the Crimean war of 1854.

Who gets a British Empire Medal?

The British Empire Medal is granted in recognition of meritorious civil or military service. Recipients are entitled to use the post-nominal letters “BEM”. Since December 1918, the honour has been divided into civil and military divisions in a similar way to the Order of the British Empire itself.

Can I nominate myself for an Honour?

You can’t nominate yourself. Anyone can nominate you for an honour, this could be a friend, family member, work colleague or community contact who would like to see your hard work and achievements formally recognised with an award from The Queen.

Is a knighthood higher than a CBE?

What is a Knighthood? While the CBE is the third highest of the order’s five ranks, only the top two can use title Sir (for a man) or Dame (for a woman). The second highest rank is a KBE or DBE – a Knight or Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

What is the highest British military award?

The Victoria Cross (VC) is the highest and most prestigious award of the British honours system. It is awarded for valour “in the presence of the enemy” to members of the British Armed Forces.

What are the British Military Medals?

British campaign medals are awarded to members of the British Armed Forces, Allied forces and civilians participating in specified military campaigns. Examples include the Defence Medal, for homeland defence in World War II, and the Atlantic Star for World War II sea service in the Atlantic. Contents. 18th century.

What is the British military award?

The Military Medal ( MM) was a military decoration awarded to personnel of the British Army and other arms of the armed forces, and to personnel of other Commonwealth countries, below commissioned rank, for bravery in battle on land.