Which states in Australia are Labor?

Which states in Australia are Labor?

They are currently in government in Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, the Australian Capital Territory, and the Northern Territory. The Labor Party is the oldest political party in Australia.

Does Northern Territory have a premier?

The Chief Minister of the Northern Territory is the head of government of the Northern Territory. The office is the equivalent of a State Premier. Since 31 August, following the 2016 election, the Chief Minister is Michael Gunner of the Labor Party.

Is the WA Premier Labour or liberal?

Mark McGowan (born 13 July 1967) is an Australian politician who has been the 30th Premier of Western Australia since 17 March 2017, and the Leader of the Labor Party in Western Australia since 23 January 2012.

What is Australia’s population by state?


State / territory Abbreviation Population (2016 census)
Australian Capital Territory ACT 395,200
New South Wales NSW 7,704,300
Northern Territory NT 244,000

What is Australia’s largest state?

Western Australia
Western Australia (WA) is Australia’s largest state and is a place of true contrasts: from desert in the east to 13,000 kilometres (8,000 miles) of pristine coastline on the west. The state’s capital is Perth; the fourth most populous city in Australia and famed for its uncrowded beaches, parklands and fresh seafood.

Why is act a territory and not a state?

The Australian territories are not part of any state. Unlike a state, territories do not have legislations to create laws for themselves, so they rely on the federal government to create and approve the laws. Territories are not claimed by any state so the Australian Parliament directly controls them.

Is NSW Labor or Liberal?

Political parties New South Wales is currently governed by the Liberal Party. The two main parties are the Liberal Party/National Party Coalition, and the Labor Party.

Is the South Australian government liberal or Labour?

Popular vote
Liberal 37.97%
Labor 32.79%
SA-Best 14.15%
Greens 6.66%

Which is the smallest state in Australia?

Tasmania (TAS) is separated from mainland Australia by the Bass Strait and is the smallest state in Australia. The capital, Hobart, was founded in 1804 as a penal colony, and is Australia’s second oldest capital city after Sydney.

Which Australian state has the smallest population?

Australia Area and Population Density

  • Tasmania is Australias smallest state, although still more populous than any of its territories.
  • The Northern Territory has an estimated 244,600 residents, making it the least densely populated part of Australia and one of the least densely populated areas in the world.

Who are the premiers and Chief Ministers of Australia?

The premiers and chief ministers of the Australian states and territories are the heads of the executive governments in the six states and two self-governing territories of Australia. They perform the same function at the state and territory level as the Prime Minister of Australia performs at the national level.

Who are the female premiers of Australian states?

Anna Bligh and Annastacia Palaszczuk are the only women who have received a popular mandate as Premier of an Australian state (21 March 2009 and 31 January 2015). Palaszczuk is also the first woman to have led a party from Opposition to Government.

Who is the current Premier of New South Wales?

Australian Premiers: Australia’s Federal and State Political Leaders. Australia. Scott Morrison (Lib) since 24 August 2018. Australian Capital Territory. Andrew Barr (ALP) since 11 December 2014. New South Wales. Gladys Berejiklian (Lib) since 23 January 2017. Northern Territory.

Who was the first Premier of Western Australia?

They are: Western Australia: Carmen Lawrence 1990–1993 (first state) Victoria: Joan Kirner 1990–1992 Queensland: Anna Bligh 2007–2012, Annastacia Palaszczuk 2015–present New South Wales: Kristina Keneally 2009–2011, Gladys Berejiklian 2017–present Tasmania: Lara Giddings 2011–2014