What are the 5 standards of information literacy?

What are the 5 standards of information literacy?

You can think of information literacy as having five components: identify, find, evaluate, apply, and acknowledge sources of information.

What are the standards of information literacy?

Standard One: The student who is information literate accesses information efficiently and effectively. Standard Two: The student who is information literate evaluates information critically and competently. Standard Three: The student who is information literate uses information accurately and creatively.

What are the three categories of information literacy standards?

Information Power: Building Partnerships for Learning includes the full content of Information Literacy Standards for Student Learning with addi- tional content designed to guide and support library media specialists’ efforts in three major areas: learning and teaching, information access, and program administration.

What are the 4 information literacy skills?

They are: 1) information technology fluency, 2) ways of thinking, 3) problem solving, and 4) communication.

What are the 7 stages of information literacy?


  • Define. The first is that you have to define your need, your problem, or the question.
  • Find. The second step is being able to find the information; locate it, access it, and retrieve it.
  • Evaluate. Once you have the information, then you need to assess the credibility of it.
  • Organize.
  • Communicate.

What is technology literacy examples?

Students who possess technology literacy are able to easily utilize a variety of digital devices (e.g., computers, smartphones, tablets) and interfaces (e.g., e-mail, internet, social media, cloud computing) to communicate, troubleshoot and problem solve in both academic and non-academic surroundings.

What is information literacy in simple words?

Information Literacy is: The ability to articulate one’s information need. The ability to identify, locate and access appropriate sources of information to meet the information need. The ability to effectively use information resources, regardless of format. The ability to critically and ethically apply the information.

What are the seven pillars of information literacy?

The SCONUL Model is useful because it defines attitudes and behaviours (i.e. understandings) as well as core skills and competences (i.e. abilities) associated with the seven ‘pillars’ of information literacy development – identify, scope, plan, gather, evaluate, manage and present.

What are the types of literacy?

Types of literacies.

  • What is Literacy.
  • Media literacy.
  • Cultural literacy.
  • Financial literacy.
  • Scientific literacy.
  • Information literacy.
  • Critical literacy.
  • What is the purpose of information literacy?

    Information literacy is the ability to find, evaluate, organize, use, and communicate information in all its various formats, most notably in situations requiring decision making, problem solving, or the acquisition of knowledge.

    What is the concept of information literacy?

    Information literacy is the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning.

    How do you define information literacy?

    What do you need to know about literacy in Australia?

    Key ideas. 1 Comprehending texts through listening, reading and viewing. This element is about receptive language and involves students using skills and strategies 2 Composing texts through speaking, writing and creating. 3 Text knowledge. 4 Grammar knowledge. 5 Word Knowledge.

    What is the framework for information literacy in higher education?

    Because this Framework envisions information literacy as extending the arc of learning throughout students’ academic careers and as converging with other academic and social learning goals, an expanded definition of information literacy is offered here to emphasize dynamism, flexibility, individual growth, and community learning:

    Which is the best document for information literacy?

    Two influential documents are the Association of College and Research Libraries (2000)Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Educationand the Australian and New Zealand (Bundy, 2004) Information Literacy framework.

    What are the three elements of information literacy?

    Building on this concept of an information literacy discipline, the authors propose a mission for information literacy education focused around three elements: information literacy for citizenship, information literacy for economic growth, and information literacy for employability.