What are Annex 2 countries in Kyoto Protocol?

What are Annex 2 countries in Kyoto Protocol?

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, European Community, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America.

What are Annex 1 countries in Kyoto Protocol?

Annex I countries

  • China (party, no binding targets)
  • United States (non-party)
  • European Union (party, binding targets)
  • India (party, no binding targets)

What are Annex 1 countries?

The developed countries, also called Annex 1 countries, originally consisted of 38 states, 13 of which were Eastern European states in transition to democracy and market economies, and the European Union. All belong to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

What is the Kyoto Protocol Site 1?

The Kyoto Protocol was adopted on 11 December 1997. In short, the Kyoto Protocol operationalizes the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change by committing industrialized countries and economies in transition to limit and reduce greenhouse gases (GHG) emissions in accordance with agreed individual targets.

What is a non-Annex 1 country?

Non-Annex I countries are developing countries, under the Kyoto Protocol. Non-Annex I countries do not have legally binding emissions reductions targets.

Is China an Annex 1 country?

As of 2007, most of the 41 Annex I parties have ratified the Kyoto Protocol, and so are legally obligated to reduce greenhouse emissions. China and India have both ratified the Kyoto Protocol, but as developing nations, they are Non-Annex I nations and so are not required to reduce emissions.

What country will become carbon neutral by 2030?

The Timeline of Carbon Neutral Targets by Country

Country Target Year
Uruguay 2030
Finland 2035
Austria 2040
Iceland 2040

Is China a non-Annex 1 country?

China is the only non-Annex country that is a permanent member of the Security Council and among the five largest economies in the world.

What are Annex A and Annex B countries?

Definition: Annex I and Annex B Countries/Parties are the signatory nations to the Kyoto Protocol that are subject to caps on their emissions of GHGs and committed to reduction targets–countries with developed economies.

Was the Kyoto Protocol a failure?

In 2001, the U.S. formally rejected the Kyoto Protocol and looking back on Kyoto’s track record that is a very good thing. Ultimately, 36 developed countries were legally bound to its GHG targets and 17 – nearly half – of them failed to meet their GHG targets.

Was Kyoto Protocol a success or a failure?

In 1997 the Kyoto Protocol was born. It was the first international agreement of its kind, a revelation that would stabilise greenhouse gas concentrations in the climate to “prevent dangerous anthropogenic interference with the climate system”. The Kyoto Protocol was therefore a huge success.